backgroundImage
Bluefinch Creative Blog

Using E-Books Like a Marketing Samurai

May 9, 2013

Social media has grown on you like a colony of E. Coli, and you’re room-temperature Canadian beef. Setup a company Twitter account – check. Get on the Face-book bandwagon – done like dinner. Hey, you’re good at this! Your email marketing strategies are always split-tested and segmented and you’ve rocked your website with the best in SEO. Online strategies are swirling around in your head, making and breaking alliances like socks in a dryer without Cling Free. Sure, you’ve adopted nearly every social media platform and your blog content is rolling, but you may still be missing out on a hugenormous (i.e. really big) opportunity to expand your audience and rake in profits. Ok, I made that last word up. ‘Hugenormous’ isn’t really a word – moving on.

Make room on your virtual bookshelves next to Twilight, folks. E-books (often PDF in format) are generally a few pages (to a few dozen pages) and all kinds of people – from your mom to your neighbour – are downloading and reading them. They’re easy to create with low production costs and boast a high conversion rate that can swiftly turn passive clickers into interested prospects and paying customers.

Case studies, blog posts, e-books, how-to guides – these are all great examples of using content to engage customers and prospects throughout the entire buying lifecycle. Some marketers use e-books to showcase thought-leadership in a specific industry, while others sell e-books as a means to create passive income (i.e. rake in profits on the road to Margaretaville). Some prefer PDF-style e-books and others prefer EPUB-style e-books. Let’s explore PDF-style e-books a bit more, shall we?

PDF e-books are easy-peasy to create and can be shared on your website, in emails, and throughout your social media platforms. PDFs are readable on most devices and they’re a great format to use if you’ve never written an e-book before. Ideally, you’ll embrace a good, juicy content marketing strategy early on so you can reap the benefits of having a well-populated library of content to share along the way. Let’s take a look at how e-books can help your business grow:

  • Use e-books to help discerning buyers get to know you and your business (important if your product or service requires a certain level of trust before a purchase is made).
  • Showcase thought-leadership around a certain area of interest or industry to build trust and stay top-of-mind with your buyers.
  • Offer an e-book as an opt-in to help you grow your email list.
  • Use e-books (and other content) as touch points with prospective customers across the entire sales cycle.
  • Sell your content-rich e-books as a means to generate passive income.

See, I told you. Creating and sharing e-books is easy as pie. Now your marketing senses are exquisitely refined, like someone who can tell butter from ‘I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter.’ Now, go forth and create and share e-books, grasshoppers!

About The Author
Content brought to you by Tanya Roberts, a Vancouver-based online marketing consultant that specializes in slick content strategy to rock your website traffic, build your brand, gain leads, and increase sales. Tanya is an experienced marketer, copywriter/editor, freelance writer, internet/online marketing consultant, and social media specialist. You can also find Tanya on Google Plus. Results matter; here are a few of .

Leave a Reply